2005/2016 - Morocco is a country in northwest Africa. It is separated from the European continent by the Strait of Gibraltar. Morocco has been independent since 1956 and a constitutional monarchy under the 1992 constitution. The largest cities in the North African country are Casablanca, the capital Rabat, Fez, Marrakech, Agadir, Tangier and Meknes. Nine sites are part of the world heritage in Morocco.